Thank you.

This year, volunteers, donors and board members moved our mission forward with gifts of time and money.

Philanthropy strengthens and sustains the Institute’s programs and services. Thanks to you – our supportive donors and contributors who make this work and mission possible. You’ve been an important part of what has kept us going this year.

Together, we will continue to make Minnesota a welcoming home, where New Americans thrive.


Our Board or Directors



Kitty Gogins, President
Business Consultant

Mark Kalla, Vice President
Partner, Lapp, Libra, Thomson, Stoebner & Pusch, Chartered

Carolyn Nestingen, Treasurer
Retired, Attorney

Glen Skovholt, Secretary
Retired, Honeywell



Jean Bovee
Director of Total Rewards,
Stratasys, Inc.

Victor Cedeño
Director of Networks and Education, Policy Generation Next

Zhu “June” Cheng
Attorney, Fredrikson & Byron P.A.

Dave Depaepe
Business Manager and Senior Vice President, Wells Fargo Bank

Charles Horwitz
Director, Government Contract Compliance, 3M Company

Jeffrey L. Mandel, MD
Retired, Internal Medicine Physician

Mary Miklethun
SVP Regulatory Oversight &
Customer Advocacy, U.S. Bank

Gerry Nolte


Aydurus Osman
Director, Soma Transportation Service

Kate Tilney
Evaluation Consultant




The following organizations and partners invested in our mission to help New Americans achieve self-sufficiency and full membership in American life with grants and donations to the International Institute of Minnesota from October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2017.



100,000 +

Greater Twin Cities United Way

Hardenbergh Foundation

HRK Foundation

Minnesota Department of Education

Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development

Minnesota Department of Human Services - Resettlement Programs Office

The Saint Paul Foundation

Twin Cities LISC

U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants


50,000 – 99,000

FR Bigelow Foundation

Minnesota State Arts Board

Otto Bremer Trust

Women United

25,000 – 49,999

Heartland Human Care Services


10,000 – 24,999

3M Foundation


Marbrook Foundation

Wells Fargo Community Leadership Academy


5,000 – 9,999

The Jay & Rose Phillips Family

Foundation of Minnesota

Francis A. and Dorothy T. Vandenberg Charitable Gift Fund

Minnesota Department of Health

National Council for Workforce Education

Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community

The Saul Winton Fund

1,000 – 4,999

Altrusa International Foundation of Saint Paul


Andy Boss Fund

Care Providers of Minnesota Foundation

Takeda Millennium Pharmaceuticals

J. Thomas and Janet Rajala Nelson Fund

Saint Paul College

Sunrise Banks

State Farm

Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.

U.S. Bank Foundation


Up to 999

Aetna Foundation


Eleanor Koehler Ellerbe Fund

Hyatt Regency

J. Murphy & Associates

Lake Nokomis Presbyterian Church

Larson Skinner PLLC

McKenna Family Fund

St. Anthony Park Home


Individual Donors

With unwavering gratitude we honor those who support the Institute’s commitment to provide a strong start for refugees and immigrants. The following individuals helped advance the Institute’s efforts in refugee resettlement, education, career pathways and citizenship with generous gifts to the International Institute of Minnesota from October 1, 2016 – September 30, 2017. On this website, we note donations of $250 and above. To see the complete list, please download our 2017 Annual Report.


25,000 +






10,000 – 24,999

Laura and Ben Cooper

Jane Graupman

Terri and Mark Henneman

Kate Tilney and Fred Kaemmer


5,000 – 9,999

Carol and Mike Garbisch

Christine Kucera Kalla and Mark Kalla

Carolyn and James Nestingen


1,000 – 4,999


Erin and Mark Arlinghaus

Luke Balhorn

Matt C Beecher

Archana Bhandari and Rupesh Pradhan

Patrick Bisenius

Jean Bovee and Rance Knoblauch

Joan Brady

Lori and Mark Casey

Susana Perez Castillejo and Carlos Seoane

Victor Cedeño

Rassoul Dastmozd

Patrick Dibartolomeo

Peg Flanagan

Kitty and Mark Gogins

Jen Halverson and Josh Dwyer

Paige Hays

Kirsten Hedin

Veena Iyer

Emily Jacobs

Charlotte and Ward Johnson

Thomas Jones

Jill and Chuck Koosmann

DeeDee and Kevin Lee

Jeffrey Mandel, MD

Mary and David Miklethun

Laurie and Peter Nordquist

Rose Mary O’Donovan

Chrystal O’Hanlon and Mark McMillan

Kim Patmore and Tom Haller

Mrunalini Parvataneni, MD and Uma Valeti, MD

Shona Ramchandani

Henry Reich

Jacqueline Rolfs and David Severtson

Charles Schmidt

Sarah Mendoza-Shelton

Liz and John Sjaastad

Kelly Thompson

Andrew Wirth


500 - 999

Katherine Dunklee

David Peichel

Nylce Prada Myers

Marie Desharnais

Juana Sandoval

Christine Kletti

Corey Mohan

June Cheng and Ron Garber

Heather Frary-Carlson

Fernanda De La Torre

Tyler Lund-Kyrola

Aaron and Kelsey Ankeny

Jennifer Bryan

Jeremy Clain

Michael Donahue

Audrey Estebo

Katherine Fish

Robert Carlson and Gregg Larson

Kristin Helling

James Lantz

Susan Lawrenz-Smith

Caroline Schnieders

Melissa Scott

James Slegers

William Weisert

John Zake


250 – 499

Sharon Albrecht

Terri Banaszewski

Diane Bauer and Mary Brixius

Nicole and Nick Briese

Maria Bruun

Joe Buck

Richard Buenger

Jill Christianson

Kathleen Coskran

Patti Cullen

Anita Drake

Emily and Lance Erickson

Austin Goodwin

Iva Lee Graupman

Michelle Greig

Mary Anne Haley

Joanne and Jim Heider

Marissa Hendrickson

Constance McMillan Hickle

Dan Hudson

Rachel Kamath

Glenn Klapperich

Kathleen Kleinberg

Kathleen Klietz

Julia Knoll

Maria Jesus Leal

Martha Magnuson

Nancy and Mike Mason

Linda and John Matticks

Diane Michaelson

Gina Mitteco

Gerald Nolte

Tara Norgard

Alison Nowak

Elisabeth Peyer

Sue Potter

Christina and Ardeshir Press

Maria Reed

Anne and Peter Reich

Jillian Rodde

Dan James Roe

Nassim and Federico Rossi

Heidi Schallberg

Katie Scholz

Kathleen and John Simmelink

Amy Smith and Mark Muller

Lloyd Vayo

Kathleen Wark

Timothy Woessner

Ruth and David Waterbury

Jocelyn Wolney

Roger Wussow


To see a complete list of our generous donors, please download our PDF report


Honors and Memorials

In honor of

In Memory of

Joseph Behr

Charlene Kessler

Irena Nelson

Marguerite Pratt

Thomas Raya, MD

Fred Rohlfing

Olga Zoltai












Tim Aldrich

Rachel Ashwin and Niam Kamath

Carolyn Blakeslee

Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton

Tony Genovese

Jeffrey Mandel, MD

Martin Marden

Karin Munksgaard

The Honorable Ilhan Omar

Julie Rawe

Kathy Simmelink

Frieda von Qualen

Katie Wittenberg